Three LHS seniors earn National Merit recognition

Jada Ash, Nayelie Sarabia and Ana Rodriguez, Lufkin High School Panther Growls staff members

Three Lufkin High School seniors — Hilda Cuello Gonzalez, Alex Hill and Cy Murphy — have earned recognition by the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Hill was selected as a National Merit Scholar, while Cuello-Gonzalez and Murphy were recognized as National Hispanic Merit Scholars.

Cuello Gonzalez said she is finishing her application to Baylor University. She said she wanted to thank her kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Mardiel, for starting her on the right track.

“I feel very excited and honored,” Cuello Gonzalez said. “I think it’s a great opportunity — not just for me, but for others to try their best.”

Hill said he plans to go Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., and he said thank you to all of his Lufkin ISD teachers.

“I feel honored, and feel like everything is paying off,” Hill said.

Murphy plans to attend Angelina College and play baseball for the Roadrunners.He also thanked all his teachers, especially the ones in Lufkin ISD.

“They motivated me and really encouraged me to pass my limits,” he said. “I feel very excited.”

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships, according to its website, It began in 1955. Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the program each year, according to the website.